Impact of the (full) CFA certification on your career.

Hello,

I was wondering, is there a real, material impact on your career development of the full CFA certification as compared to just Level II, for example ?

I successfully passed the first 2 levels, and I’ll take the level 3 exam this year. I’ve been applying for jobs in the asset management industry for 2 years now, sometimes for very junior positions, but I just can’t seem to land a job and enter the industry, despite the fact that I have a master’s degree in Asset Management, I am a CFA Level III Candidate, and I already have 5 years of experience as a market risk analyst (Solvency II-wise, not equity research or macro research or anything like that) in one of the biggest insurance companies in my country.

I’m getting a little bit desperate to be honest. Is the full CFA certification much more valued than just level II, or is it that my (potential) success for level III just won’t change a thing ?

I guess I probably lacked a little bit of luck as I was very close to a few very exciting positions, but there’s always something wrong in the end. I just hope level III could change that. Note that the fact that I don’t live close to any very busy financial place (US, Singapore, London, India, …) probably doesn’t help, as there are not that many big players here.

Any thoughts ?