Put Options

Hi everyone, So this is my first year learning about derivatives in finance, and how they work and such. My question is this, since there is a ban on shorting, are people using Put options to make a profit? At least, are they trying to? For example, Apple dropped like 18%, and most other stocks are dropping like 8-15% easily. How does it work. I have never traded before anything other than mutual funds for a bank but can you buy put options or are the premiums so high that it wouldnt be worth it? I just want to know how are derivative companies making money off of this if at all. Thanks for any responses.

you pay a premium to buy an option you collect a premium when you sell an option this is all explained pretty well in the CFA level 1 curriculum

Exept the part where people who buy put options don’t understand that they are doing something unpatriotic and ought to go to Gitmo.

JoeyDVivre Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Exept the part where people who buy put options > don’t understand that they are doing something > unpatriotic and ought to go to Gitmo. ye and get “exposed”

supersharpshooter Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > you pay a premium to buy an option > > you collect a premium when you sell an option > > this is all explained pretty well in the CFA level > 1 curriculum SWEET thank you for telling me this… Gee mister, you must know alot!!! woohoo! So anyways, Let me dumb my question down a bit. Since i have no trading experience, is buying put options and other derivatives what seasoned traders are doing now with this market? How are they achieving arbitrage if any?

C Oct 17.5 Puts are trading at $1.44 – go get em.