Investing in a Stock Index Fund in the current market

I have a question regarding investing in the current market. Because I am brand new to the world of investing and don’t have much knowledge, please don’t flame if my question sounds asinine. I recently invested 10K into the Vanguard 500 fund and have gained ~$800 in the past 10 days. Given the current market and thoughts by many that there will be negative growth in the economy until at least the middle of 2009, do you guys think it’s better to cash out now or should I just keep my money in the fund and ride it out? Thanks.

I’ll try to answer your question. While conventional wisdom suggests buy and hold index funds, it is never wise to lose money. If you truly trust these thoughts by many with how you are managing your money, then it may not be a bad idea to take some gains now, hold the sum a money market, and then invest during the middle of 09. However, many big name investors (Buffett included) suggest a low cost index fund with a buy and hold strategy. Keeping your money in the fund will earn you dividends in the meantime too. Timing the market is very difficult and those whom can are usually rewarded handsomely. Aside from the timing aspect, you would be liable for short term capital gains for pulling your money out. These taxes are less friendly than long term capital gains (for now). Also, we would need to know more about your situation. Do you need the money in a short time span? Are you comfortable with an equity fund’s risk level? And so forth.

So if anyone really knew what the stock market was going to do, we could make infinite money. Does making an utterly taxable 8% cause you to change the reasons you invested in the first place?

Just make it rain bro, make it rain