CFA with no accounting background

Hello Guys, I have been going through CFA materials and I plan to take it on this June. I encountered with one of my finance professors today with whom I was taking finance elective class called “Financial management”. Since the Financial Management course required a perquisite class called “Accounting 101” he hesitated to sign me in for that class. ( I never took any accounting class since I am a mathematics major with economics minor) So i told him that “I am preparing for CFA exams so I think I would be able to manage it” and then he goes “Wait you are planning to CFA exams and you havent had any accounting background”. Then he started how tough it would be for me to pass CFA exams if i have no accounting background and basically he said I cant do it on my own. But I thought one can manage on your own to prepare for CFA exams. Am I getting something wrong over here or he is just scaring me here. Is Accounting section (Financial reporting and analysis) that bad for CFA level I that any student with no accounting background will have to go through a lot of struggling.

a lot of people have passed all the cfa exams without any background in accounting, or business for that matter. accounting really does not have much in common with math. math makes sense. accounting is mostly a bunch of rules one has to follow. you will find it boring and challenging at the same time, but it’s certainly doable.