I went 3/3 in 2 Years. Here is what I did

Hello, I have a template if anyone is looking for a strategy. It is time intensive but it worked for me! This is an email I sent to a coworker. -Kyle

Materials:

The CFA Institute books are where it is at, but for level 1 you can get by with Schweser’s material. I did the San Francisco Schweser seminars for Level 2 and Level 3, and I would definitely recommend that as a top priority. I studied about 300 hours for level 1, 430 for level 2, and 450 level 3 (each hour was 50 minutes, bc I normally take a 10 minute break every 50 minutes, which later became solid time blocks as I was building my mental endurance). I wouldn’t recommend using 3rd party material for practice tests for level 3 unless you run out of CFAI materials.

The whole thing is really intense so you need to have a good strategy, and you will need to get really good at time management. However, the material is basically a compilation of the leading edge finance papers, books, and studies, so it is much better than what I had in college. More interesting as well.

My strategies:

-Minimum 6 practice tests per level.

-Start 5-6 months ahead of time, no earlier, no later.

-Get used to burnout, and managing burnout, but don’t take more than a day or two off studying.

-Part of this is making sure you have a great time when you do take breaks (hobbies, concerts, spend some cash)

-Work the Blue Box examples and End of Chapter Questions as you are reading. These are a prime source for actual test questions. It is said that blue boxes have a higher correlation to test questions than EOC questions, I would agree.

-Do not short yourself on time, building up to the test is not a linear process, you get a lot more out of the last 50 hours than the first.

-Do not skim the material, the passing score is most likely 68%, but to get that score you need to know it to an a level.