Retention (Memory) Strategies

I’d love some advice here. Keep in mind I’m coming from a Marketing (Commerce) Degree, ie. I don’t know Finance all that well (I took a few courses on theory of finance so I have an idea) so my background is not strong.

My current plan is to get through the curriculum by October 6th, which means just studying through the CFA texts and answering EOC questions as I go. I’m realizing now that if I continue on this path, that without working through a ton of questions, I’m not going to remember detailed things (like the forumula for hypothesis testing when variances assumed the same etc.) on a first read through. The thing is, it’s taking me a lot of time to get through a first read-through, but I do want to know the material as well as I can and be thorough.

Anyway, when you finish a section, is it best to keep refreshing that section every week or two as you move through the 1st read?? I’m worried if I wait until Oct 6th to start review and questions and all that I’ll have forgotten most of the early material. Any advice?

nah don’t your goal is to just go through the material with a rough understanding of all the topics then go into question bank and mock exams. At first you won’t be able to immediately connect with the questions but after a few rounds everything you read so far will come back and gel together for you.

so if that’s the case, is my plan to finish 1st read by Oct 6th, about 2 months before the exam, enough time to give myself to master the topics with questions/review in those 2 months? Or should I be aiming to finish 1st read well before that? Assuming that not much retention is taking place in a 1st read, I’d basically have 2 months to start retaining the information. Just really don’t want to leave it too late; but also need to keep in mind the length of time it takes to go through the material thoroughly on 1st read.

enough time to give myself to master the topics with questions/review in those 2 months?