Failed... twice... need your contribution!

Hey guys,

I would like to share my concerns with you. I wrote the L1 twice and now not sure if I should write it for the third time…

My first attepmt: Got band 10 because I scored very low on FRA and Ethics.

My Second attempt: Got band 7 but I scored 50-70 on FRA. I felt that the exam was much harder than the one on December 2013, especially in the easy topics like econ, PM, stats, etc. that are easy fo me and in which I did pretty well on the first time.

I think that the difference in my preparation for the first and the second times is that, on the first one I put more emphasis on exercises than knowing the notes. In the second one it was vice versa: more notes, less exercises.

I have to mention that I studied from Schweser materials and solves some CFAI and Schweser mocks but have never done EOC’s.

Now, I am not sure if I should try again. I am about to finish my Econ degree, and don’t have a job yet. In addition, I heard that the CFA Program would be beneficial to those who are already in the finance market and not for those who just want to put the foot in the door.

What are you saying? I think that if I will write the exam again, these time I would read the notes, do EOC (CFA PLUS SCHWESER) and solve more mocks… that’s my inprovement.

and do you have some useful advices about how to study for the ethics section? I don’t know how to improve that.

Thank you:)

First, let it be known that when you did a lot of practice (or exercises, as you call them), you did better on the exam. The lesson from this is very simple and needs not be said, but I’ll say it anyway. PRACTICE MORE AND READ LESS!!! Not that there’s anything wrong with passively reading the material, but it doesn’t force you to learn the material the way that doing practice questions do. CFA exams are not a spectator sport.