Thoughts on overcoming Level 1

Hi All

I don’t normally post on forums of any description but I have recently passed CFA Level 1 having previously failed on two prior occasions and i thought i would share my experiences with those who may be interested.

Firstly, im sure most will read my introduction and think im simply not smart enough to be completing the qualification. In my defense the CFA is literally the only exam ive ever failed. I have an undergraduate and masters degree and have completed other professional qualifications over the past few years without issue. So why did i find it so difficult to pass what should be a fairly straightforward exam?

There are a number of reasons ive identified.

1. Long working hours and a job that requires significant travel and a constantly changing schedule makes it difficult to structure time to study.

2. Already limited time is then being competed for by my girlfriend and family.

3. I play sport at a fairly serious level which requires a number of training sessions a week and a fixture schedule that changes weekend to weekend.

4. The job i do has no real overlap with the CFA in terms of day to day exposure so those in equity/FI research as an example have an automatic advantage.

5. My university degrees have some relevance to the CFA but the content has been long forgotten.

So after two previous attempts which resulted in Band 8 & 9 failures, what did i do differently to get across the line on this occasion?

The previous two attempts had clearly given me a good base to work from but it was clear i was missing some extremely easy marks.

I had never given FRA the respect it deserved, so i went back to square one, re-read the book cover to cover and really made sure the nuances stuck.

Secondly, i learned the 5/6 specific rules or treatments within the ethics questions which keep coming up time and time again.