Start with Ethics or Quant?

So, I just signed up for L1 in Dec. I’m already worried that I’m starting too late. I’ve been working in the industry for a long time as a technical BA in front office technolog, but I have very little math background, so I need to get going asap.

I bought the Schweser notes package, and was just looking at the study calendar and the introduction video. Schweser says to start with Ethics and just do everything in order of the books, but Mark Meldrum says to start with quant, and leave the ethics until last because so much of it is about purely remembering stuff that it’s better to do it closer to the exam. Anyone have an opinion on this?

I started off with Ethics first because I think it is the most important section. It is also a section that I find relatively easy to read. In my own opinion, since you already purchased Schweser package, you should follow it. Otherwise, what is the point if you buy but not follow it right? Keep this simple and follow their recipe. If their way doesn’t work, there is at least something to blame on, lol.

I think you have more than enough time, I wouldn’t stress thinking about whether you started too late or not. Just get through the material, do all the end-of-chapter problems, and leave about a month before the exam to tackle practice exams. I did Dec L1 last year, started studying towards the end of July, and passed >70% in all topics after studying a total of ~320 hours. Absolutely doable! Best of luck.

I didn’t study Ethics until the very end. I highly recommend you study this way. While reading through content on everything else and continually testing yourself on it (especially the more quantitative-oriented problems) will build your knowledge of it whatever you study with regards towards the beginning could easily be gone come exam time. It’s not a hard section and I feel like even though I shoved it in right at the end it was probably one of my better sections on the actual exam.