Re-Exam

I did not clear my second attempt of CFA level 1 exam this June. Should i give a third attempt? Kindly advise. I did fairly but i think i lack proper way of dealing the questions and also did get confused with so much material.

How many hours did you put it?

Are you concentrating on the LOSs or just reading the material or any 3rd party material? For myself, I was really lost when I started studying for L1 because there was just so much stuff. But then I found Mark Meldrum’s videos (which are broken down into LOSs) and it really helped me A LOT.

Best to clear it this December 2018 exam, else there will be changes to the syllabus and exam area weight in 2019.

Video summarising changes for Lvl 1 2018 vs 2019

[video:https://youtu.be/LSXKG-60x6w align:left]

Are you paying for it or is your employer?

Are you currently working in finance?

What do you want to do with your life?

How poorly did you do both times? Did you at least improve this time around?

What do you hope to gain from getting the CFA?

If the answers go like this:

Employer is paying (automatic yes); I’m paying (meh, maybe)

Yes, currently at a job that will count towards my work experience (yeah, okay). No, I’m unemployed/not doing anything related to finance (no, probably not)

I’m 23 years old and want to be a PM (okay, probably). I’m 33 years old and want to break into finance (no)

I improved my score significantly the second time and feel I have a better grasp on the material (yes). I sucked both time (no).

The CFA will help me land my dream job (no). The CFA will help me network and maybe get my foot into the door (yes).

I’m in the same boat…3 times now…fail. first 2 times I got band 9 and now I feel as I did worse.

<50% quant, Alt Investment, Econ

50-70 everything else