Level 1 Study Strategy

Hi Guys - I started studying for the December Level 1 last week of May. I’ve been watching Mark Meldrum’s videos during the weekdays for 3 readings and then focus on solving Mark Meldrum’s quizzes. So far I’ve been solving 40 questions/reading during the weekends. But I’m already feeling worried that my study plan not work. Can you guys share your study plans? and for those who watched Mark Meldrum’s videos, were you guys able to understand perfectly what he was saying? I like his videos but for some topic, I feel very lost even after watching his lectures. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Cheers!

Hey man. I’m on the same boat that you’re on. I’m using Kaplan Scwheser and have been following the study calendar pretty closely. I have been doing CFAI questions after I do some of the Schweser QBank questions. It looks like you might be studying with Schweser too? At least that’s what it says what you’re studying with above. My recommendation is to stick with the plan they have laid out for you and if you continue to struggle with topics start to find alternative ways to have the concept broken down for you. There are tons of resources that describe these concepts: Analyst forum, schweser, Mark Meldrum, CFA institute, investopedia, etc. Sometimes I’ll need to see how a concept works three or four different ways before I have my “ah-ha!” moment.

I have also noticed in the CFA Curriculum learning environment there are discussions below the topic areas. A lot of people tend to have the same questions about the same topics. It’s not always helpful but there are some fruits of knowledge in those discussion sections. It’s encouraging to find out that you’re not the only one struggling on the same concepts.