Failed Level 1. Tips or advice?

Morning all,

i failed level one June 2019 exam. I used Kaplan Schweser and to be frank, I was not really impressed with their overall package. I am most likely going To use either Wiley or Mark Meldrum material for this second go around in December 2019.

Any tips or advice would be appreciated on:

• thought of using different material?

• study habit and study schedule?

• is 300+ hours really needed for this time around?

Thank you.

You haven’t provided enough info on your background for anyone to comment on this. Do you have a basic background in accounting, finance, econ, and stats? Can you do basic algebra and are comfortable with NPV math (and running the calculator)? For level 1 the study prep provider doesn’t really matter that much (it didn’t for me- I majored in Econ and a lot of the material was already known to me, which is why I think your background matters a lot for level 1). 300+ hours is bs. It depends on your background and personal circumstances. You’ll need to spend as much time as needed for you to study the curriculum and know everything well. This could mean 100 hours, 300 hours, or 1,000 hours. You can measure your grasp of the material based on your mock scores. Are you consistently scoring 70%+? If not, then you need to go back to the drawing board. Study habit and study schedule again depends on your personal circumstances. Do you have a full-time job, or are currently enrolled in a rigorous program, or have a family to tend to? You’ll need to cut out all the time-sinks (video games, social networking, going out to drink) and put it into studying.

True story: the first time I wrote LI (passed the next time!), I was unfamiliar with the intricacies of the calculator. I wasted a good 4 minutes trying to do a simple solve for I for a level annuity: I had the same sign on PMT and PV!!! I cursed and cursed the error message without realizing my mistake. So, RTFM and practice, practice, practice!!! :blush: