Sufficient Time to Study for CFA Level 1 Exam this Dec07???

Hi Need some advice from you guys. Am an engineering graduate and also obtained my accounting masters and CPA. Just quit my audit job (pay sucks and long hours). Taking this CFA full time in a way before I look for finance job…Started last week…you guys think I can finish the materials?? Read through FSA and feel I can handle it… Thanks in advance…

bad move. should have at least have another job before quitting. your results will be back in feb, assuming you pass, and u will need another month or so to go thru interviews. so you will be jobless for about 9 months.

Well worse come to worse I can take any accounting job first. In fact decided to do that after my CFA exams…

Hi there, I’m taking the exam in Dec and I just started studying two weeks ago. Given that you have some experience with certain subjects, I think it’s doable. That’s not to say you won’t have to study a lot. The CFA CBOK is huge, so even well studied finance grads like me have allotted upwards of 100-200 hours to reviewing the materials. If you’re like me and feel semi-comfortable with the material, I’d suggest going with Schweser study notes because they’re the most condensed. But take that advice with a grain of salt. I’ve talked to many who have recommended these notes, but I haven’t checked out the other ones, so I can’t say for sure that these are the best. So far though, I think they’ve been pretty good. Hope this helps, Logi

Dude, if your not working, you can easily finish the material in about a month and a half. I guess it really depends on how ambitious you are…

You have plenty of time. I started April 15th for June’s exam and, although stressful at times, ended up getting through it. To echo bmwhype’s point, real, real bad move quitting a job without another lined up.