Why L2 is harder than L1

L2 is harder. My background is that I only entered finance two years ago (after 15 years out of school and no quantitative degrees) but I’ve managed to passed L1 and L2 the first time. When I started L2, I wondered why everyone thought it was so much harder (I only knew one person out of maybe thirty charterholders who had passed the first time). Having passed it now, here are my thoughts: 1. the volume is not substantially larger but the depth of the material is greater i.e. in L1 you are building up a background in the material and learning the tools; L2 is implementing those tools so there is more “active” content i.e. stuff you need to know how to use rather than just understand. 2.THE TOPIC WEIGHTINGS: in L2, you could pretty much target FRA, Ethics, Quant and one other topic and you could pass because you knew the exact number of questions to expect. In L2, the percentages are variable so you cannot target as much. Also, they can and do throw questions from other topic areas into a topic. 3. THE QUESTION FORMAT: The question format is almost a topic area in and of itself in that you *need* experience and practice reading through 2-5 pages and then answering six questions which may centre on a topic area that wasn’t given a lot of attention in the curriculum. So if you are weak on one topic in L1 you might get a couple of questions on it. In L2, you might get a whole vignette on one topic you are weak on and, as each question counts more, this can really hurt. If you get behind on time, it is harder to catch up than in L1 because you have to read 2-5 pages just to begin answering the first of six questions where in L1 you might have (at most) a paragraph. 4. THE NUMBER OF QUESTIONS: L2 has half the number of questions as L1. On the plus side, you have double the time per question. On the downside, because of the extra reading involved, you will need it. The smaller number of questions means you have a smaller ability to show off what y