What is your view on the expiry of the CFA results?

Do you think they would ever change their policies so that CFA results expire?

I have passed level 1 and 2 exams on first attempts and although I am currently working as an investment analyst, I will be studying an MSc at a prestigous British university in October. I am planning to take level 3 next June along my MSc and then I will be working 2 years as a research assitant before embarking a Ph.D programme in Quant Finance. So I will only have 3 years work experience by the start of my Ph.D (assuming that CFAI would count research assistant experience as acceptable experience) and then will be conducting research for another 3 years (Ph.D in UK takes 3 - 5 years), which means I won’t be able to apply for the charter till 2021. I will be working part-time in AM during my Ph.D though and I am not sure part-time work counts.

My worry is that CFAI would change their laws so that once you have passed all the exams, there is limited time to obtain the charter and qualify for work experience.

What is your view on this? Do you think CFAI would ever change their policies? Cause sitting CFA all over again would be an agony!

It’s not impossible but I view it as highly unlikely. More important question is why are you doing a Masters, PhD, CFA examinations and FRM examinations which I read in another thread without getting much work experience? What is the endgame in terms of career or prospects? Head of a strat group? You make it easy to look up your name and currently you’re working I’m guessing in the PWM area though for a pretty big firm. Do you plan to stay there with all your education and qualifications or have different ambitions?