Failed Level 1 but Passed Level 2 on 1st attempt

Hi Everybody,

I wanted to share my strategy while studying for Level 2 as I am guessing that my story here is unique. I wrote the Level 2 exam this past June and passed upon my first attempt. Previously, I wrote the Level 1 Exam in December 2014 and failed upon my 1st attempt. Brutal. I attempted Level 1 again in June 2015 and passed. I wanted to share with you HOW I studied and what worked for me in studying for the Level 2 exam.

Disclosure: I realize that everybody learns differently and what works for some, may not work for others. If this post helps, great! If not, well, this was a pleasant distraction from work.

Before I lay out my approach I need to stress that my strategy had one goal: To finish the curriculum as early as possible so that I had ample time to practice and revisit weaker topics. This is KEY. There is an ocean of information in the CFA curriculum and many will find that after completing all the readings they forget about 80% of what they previously read. That’s OK! How the hell are you supposed to remember everything you read 1-3 months ago while working a fulltime job, family, etc.? That’s why we need a 2-month window between finishing the readings and exam day. This gives us ample time to circle back for review, practice, and hammer the ideas home.

Here was my study schedule:

January-March:

Objective: Complete Schweser curriculum and complete EOC ?’s from the CFA text after each reading.