Heteroskedasticity, serial correlation and Multicollinearity

Hi all.

Am i understanding below is correct?

Heteroskedasticity: consistent coefficient but unreliable, biased

serial correlation: consistent coefficient but unreliable, biased

Multicollinearity: inconsistent, unreliable and biased coefficient

Does unreliable means biased?

I am no expert in quants, far from it really, but i am sure multicollinearity leads to unreliable coefficient estimates which are consistent. As for serial correlation and heteroskedasticity, i think coefficient estimates are totally unaffected-consistent and reliable.

I think for multicolin R squared is high, F is sig, but the coeffs are not sig. (hence not consistant)

Serial and hetero will both have incorrect standard errors and will therefore be unreliable

Someone correct me if im wrong, im half asleep

Multicollinearity: Coefficient estimates are unreliable, but consistent. 100% sure.

SC and HSKD: I agree with you on standard errors being unreliable, but coefficient estimates are not affected.

Can someone please confirm?

“Even though multicollinearity does not affect the consistency of slope coefficients, such coefficients themselves tend to be unreliable.”

“The most common way to detect multicollinearity is the situation where t-tests indicate that none of the individual coefficients is significantly different than zero, while the F-test is statistically significant and the R2 is high.”

What does consist mean in this case?

Regarding multicollinearity: My understanding of the entire regression thing in CFA is that it is not only about making a precise prediction but also understand the factors that lead to this prediction. Take a simple regression

y= 0 + 2*risk_1 + 1*risk_2