Advice on Passing Level II in ~175-200 Hours

I passed the 2017 L2 exam with 175-200 hours of study. I am thrilled to have passed the exam, but I think I would have been a lot less stressed had I actually logged the 300 hours most people suggest. Several unexpected and difficult things happened in my life during the period in which I had planned to study that sapped a lot of my focus, but I didn’t want to give up and needed to give the exam my best shot and leave it all on the field. I acknowledge that there was definitely a good amount of luck that played into my result, but I also wanted to chronicle my story for future test takers to let you know that if you’re short on time next year, there is still hope, always!

DISCLAIMER: I did have a couple factors working in my favor. I studied economics in college, and I work in finance, so some of the subjects, like FRA and Equity came easier to me or it wasn’t the first time I had seen them. That being said, L2 has lots of tricks and twists that require much more than just a cursory understanding of the material. If I could start again today, I would have made sure I spaced out 300 hours over a 6 month period to study. I’m just explaining why I felt incrementally confident that my plan might actually work and suggesting that it’s not an ideal study strategy if you can avoid it.

TIPS: