Studying Guidance

Hello. Was hoping to receive some guidance regarding studying for level II.

I started studying for level II this monday (sept 18). First off, am I starting late? I notice people are posting questions starting in August?!?!

Also I applied the following methodology in studying for CFA level 1

• Read through schweser books. Completed all the chapter example questions, End of chapter (EOC) and challenge questions at the end of each chapter. Marked the ones I had wrong or were hard to come to later.

• Completed all the in chapter example questions in the real books + EOC

• Review consisted of going through any sections again that I was finding difficult, review questions from the cfa website, 9 practice exams (schweser + cfa website) and memorizing all the formulas.

Can I apply the same to level 2 or should I ditch the schweser books for the real book only? Also by one comfortably should I start reviewing?

I know I asked a lot of questions. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

I think starting in October is plenty of time as long as you put in the hours. I wouldn’t rely on 3rd party stuff as much as the CFAI books. I always look at it as people trying to take shortcuts when they just use 3rd party and since the exams are even more in depth, taking shortcuts is even riskier. Sometimes it works though but i doubt it does for most people. My advice is to use CFAI as your main material and supplement it with 3rd party. Study a lot and practice a lot and you will do great. Good luck.

This.