FRM PART

I h

I used Schweser for level 1 last nov. I studied an hour or so everyday and a few more on weekends. I finished all readings around 1 month from the exam. I spent two weeks doing q bank and then two weeks doing 4 exams (2 from GARP and 2 from Schweser). I passed 1112 my friend passed 1111. I would say 60% is covered but don’t let that fool you. You need to take it seriously. The questions were around cfa level 1 and 2 difficultly but some were harder. The 8am start for the exam was brutal as well. I do recommend the program and you get into more detail in some areas like forecasting volatility models using garch or ewma.

Im studying for level 2 now and chose Wiley. I just cleared cfa level 2 like you and I feel like I need videos. If you are a visual learner, go with Wiley. Also as you may be constrained with time, Wiley is better. You get bite size lessons and can easily finish by mid-Oct. Christian Cooper does a fantastic job in telling you what you need to know. Sometimes the GARP readings are 40 pages and you only need to know 10 for the learning objectives, these videos will save you time. For level 1 I started studying 1st day of Aug. Schweser does have a weekly video for 3hrs but my time was better spent reading and practicing.

You can get prior exams from bionic turtle forum. Doing 4 exams were key. Some years GARP will use the exact same questions or similar questions so I honed in those for the exam.

PM if you have more specific questions and happy to help

what topics/subjects are covered in the 60% you say?

Roughly how many hours did you prepare dor this ?

How much of cfa level 1 and 2 is already covered in frm part 1

Also wondering this^^

is there any carryover from CFA to FRM?

You’ll see some connections between the two but FRM gets deeper into the quant details. Mind you my opinion was from taking the FRM many years ago so something may have changed.

Worst case you’ll be able to zip through the CFA readings on VaR pretty quickly…