Guidance for 3rd Time Level II

Thought I’d kick off my L2 prep by turning to the CFA knowledge hive and hopefully get some collective advice.

I just registered for the level 2 exam for the 3rd time and this is going to be the final tilt at it for me. I’ve sat the exam once a few years ago and didn’t pass with band 6 (from memory). I registered again for the following year however due to some intense work, a big health challenge, and being newly married I didn’t end up sitting the exam. I passed Level I first time through with about 3 months study, however, struggled to get a full grasp of the Level II material even though my background is financial planning and investment management.

Considering I have half a year now until the exam I’d love to draw on the best practices that people have found helped with level II. I’m at grad school until Sept so I figured this is the time to do it. I couldn’t bring myself to revisiting the material one more time so - it’s all or nothing :slight_smile:

Let me hear your best advice!

4th time taker here. Failed Band 3 and Band 6 twice. I’m a professional and study at night after dinner. I haven’t quit because I really want it. Decided to read CFAI books for all subject except Corp Fin., Econ, and Quant. I’m almost done with Derivatives and will move on to these last three subjects via the Schweser books. I think I made a mistake reading the CFAI material for Derivatives. It’s very complicated. Best of luck to you this year.

Do the work. Very few ways around it. I have the same background as you (financial planning and investment management). I’m 40 years old and have a kid, and a full time job (I actually had a second job last year as well). I studied approximately 600 hours for L1 and about 750 hours for L2. Each level was jammed into a 5-6 month time period. In both scored in the top 90%ile and I have zero accounting experience (Before the CFA I didnt even know what a balance sheet was);