Time Vs Working in the field

Guys i have a decision to make and i would appreciate some advice, quick! At my current job, i have a lot of time to study, i.e. i leave early and i have the rest of the day to read the material… etc. However, almost nothing is related to what im studying in CFA. I recently got a job in Investment Banking. The manager who interviewed me for the job made it clear that its a demading job and it requires staying at work for long hours. Yet, obviously my work shall be very much related to what im studying in CFA. Now im confused, whether to switch and be exposed, or stay where I am and clear the CFA then make my move. Some input is very much appreicated, specially from those who took lvl2 and knw the amount of dedication it requires…

I think you should take this job and forget about CFA. Think about this: why do you need CFA? Isn’t it just for a better career? If this is a job you’re interested and you wouldn’t want to switch after you finished all CFA exams, you should take it now and forget about the exam. What’s the point of taking the exam if you already get the job without it?

Usif I am sort of in the same boat with you. My job is too easy at times and I find myself with more time to study for the next exam. I am in the job market too and realize that it is possible that the next job I land may require more of my time. Like Chaucy1999 says if you decide to move into IB then I don’t believe that the charter will matter anymore. However if you plan to move back into asset management or something then continue with your studies. Good luck!

Take the job. I’m not working in the industry, but I’ve passed the CFA exams. Personally I’ve found it easier to pass the exams than to get the experience, so if you have a chance to get the job you want go for it. You can always return to the CFA program later, it’s not going anywhere.