Job prospects for MBAs doing CFA level II

I am not sure how many candidates going through MBA are taking level II on AF. If you are one, what kind of jobs are you thinking about when you graduate? I am an engineer going through part-time program, so do not have a chance to get a lot of finance electives. For me, CFA level I and II (if I pass) would be one way to learn the material and show that I am a serious candidate for finance related jobs.

I would say 95% people taking CFA want to work in Finance. CFA will take you to Investment Management. MBA is a different beast. Anybody who wants to get promotion/career switch in any field goes for MBA.

Buddham, you are working full-time, getting your MBA part-time, and studying for CFA??? Wow.

Your ??? is so appropriate. It did wreck my family life. I, not unlike lots of AFers, really like finance related subjects, so I do have the motivation, but so short on time. I have been doing same kind of job for too long, and a change of scenery would help me get excited again.

I’m one - doing MBA in finance, just took level 2 (50-50 about my chances). I’d be mostly looking at going into fund management, but let’s see… I’d rather not be too rigid in my choices…

non_kool, Do you have related experience? I have none. Do I stand any chance of getting into jobs like fund management? Thanks,

I would say Part-Time MBA’s do not give same kind of opportunities which full-time does. What school do you go to? If NYU, try your career service and alumni to get into finance.