CFA hate?

Just wondered why this designation seems to be frequently slandered on this board. I’m not denying the fact that you need to have much more going for you than this piece of paper to end up in the right place, but the way some people talk about it, it is as though many feel it is completely useless. I dunno, I am a commodity trader and yes, where I work, it is 100% useless in terms of educational value. But people still respect the effort and time you put in after working a demanding 7-5. I’m not claiming this thing opens doors wide open. But we all wouldn’t be doing it if there wasn’t some benefit right? How can it not help you stand at least a little further out? It’s not as though jobs fall to you immediately afterwards. But as a part of a well rounded resume, would you not think it is valuable? Certainly at this point, I don’t regret having written these exams. Do you? Just my 2 cents, would appreciate yours…

no way i put myself through this if i thought it wasn’t valuable.

I have a lot of respect for CFA and I will always treasure the knowledge, but I did expect it to also help me in my job search, but it does not seem to have much value if you do not have any finance experience. I had asked about this about a year back and folks on this forum had warned me about exactly this phenomena and it was confirmed during my campus recruiting last fall. Some of my college-alumni had told that MBA plus CFA level II would be a killer combination to make the career change, but I did not find that to be true. But you have to keep this in perspective of the imploding banks. So, while I am telling about my experience, but it is possible that it was very much tied to the current situation and it may have helped in a normal situation.

Here (in Scandinavia) people respect the effort we put into it. But the CFA doesn’t really open any doors.