What is the end result?

I failed level 3, But I don’t see the point in continueing. Where are the great paying CFA jobs. I type CFA on monster.com and get 16 jobs. I type in CPA and get 25 pages. I am being to think this whole thing was a waste of time. I did it for the big pay day, but where is it. I am a Vice president in Securities operations, but cannot even land an interview for an enrty level investment analyst position. I have over 10 years experience in the investment industry. Not to mention the pay cut I would have to take at least 50k. I need to stop being so stubborn and just let this thing go.

You sound just like your name, sour. When the good times come around and promotion is near, you’d wish you had finished off the CFA. Only then, you’d have to bust your arse twice as hard as age is catching up to you. 10 yrs in investment industry and such myopic vision. Because of investment professionals like you, the market needs a correction every other day.

I make over 150k a year and i don’t work in New York and this was without the CFA. It was all due to hard work. I did the CFA to get into the front office. PhBoom you sound like the typical young guy that thinks the CFA will change your life. Good luck.

i see both sides of the argument… you’re already at L3 and it might be advantageous to your current postion i would think… and i think front office/back office is blurring to a point… i do agree that there will be alot fewer $1 million+ positions (chose it arbitrarily) in the future.

I have no problem with what you do. Just think on this. CFA is nothing or all. If you have already invested so much time and effort then decide to quit, your salvage value from this experience is minuscule, especially given that your original motive was for the money, not knowledge. Investment blunder? I think so. Maybe the fail is making you sour right now. Come back in 6 months, you might reevaluate.

Quitters never win.