seniors advice please !?!

Hi, I cleared level 1june 2009, and have registered for level 2 june 2010 and cant find any job these days so worst comes to worst i ll have to sit at home and prepare for the exam… i am only a finance graduate with a level 1 …do u think, considering the competition and difficulty level of level 2…its a suicide mission to risk 1 year by sitting at home and preparing…its obvious that its a big risk but all i am looking here for is some suggestions and advices from people who have done it… or is it that taking this big of a risk is not realistic …please guide !!!

who says you cant study and look for work at the same time? most people including myself here work a fulltime job while preparing for the CFA exams…

I worked full time and spent much time with my familiy 2 small kids while completing all 3 levels. If you can’t study and look for work at the same time using an entire year, then you’ve got a problem! You are not risking anything, just go ahead!

yea passing CFA with nothing else to do is not really an accomplishment. The reason CFA is valuable is because people are motivated enough to study for it while gaining experience by holding pretty good full time jobs. Don’t forget you need 4 years of relevant experience to get the charter. I don’t have kids, but I was studying for L2 while working 50-60 hour weeks for 4 months. Passing CFA right after school with finance degree is not really a big of a deal and won’t get you anywhere by itself. Getting a job and networking should be your priority at this point with level 2 on the side. If you haven’t done this in school already, join local CFA society and attend their events, which should be a great networking opportunity.

Networking is the key. I was told by people in the industry that the requirement for entry level analyst job is now with L3 passed, YMMV.