ask me a L3 question

i actually miss this forum… happy to answer any question anyone has to do with CFAI L3 or L2 (nothing about my job/city/etc. if you don’t mind) FYI, i did L1 a long time ago… L2/L3 the two years. my local SBUX staff had never seen anything like the amount i studied (and that was probably only 70% of my study time, at most)

I’ll go. In your study prep. Would you have changed your study approach at all in hindsight.

basically get to the EOC and practice exams (especially) alot earlier. also, i focussed on lists/acronyms a ton the last two weeks (completely different than L2) and it was of almost no use on the exam (might not be true every year though) one thing i did do right was do the exam backwards. save Indy IPS for last. i could have done the half-a**ed answer i gave in about 5 minutes, so it didn’t matter. whereas if you’re rushed for time on an analytical question, you have huge problem.

Thanks. How many days out were you hitting the samples? I’m hoping to have 35-40 days for mock/samples. Enough or better to push the timeline up?

how many practice exams you took?

4 or 5 practice exams i took. one or two were a little old… i think there’s actually value in just flipping thru extra old exams (maybe really old ones)… zero mocks. the way they do it is pointless to me. i think practice exams are big part of learning, not just figuring out where u stand. so earlier the better. i understand that it’s almost pointless to do them if you don’t know the material. sooner the better on practice exams. now is a bit early though.

When you say practice exam, you are taking about CFAI online exam - right? I wanted to clarify because I have only CFAI material. I am finishing SS-11 today. I still have SS-12 to SS-18 and Ethics to go. Feel like I am really behind. Appreciate your help.

My two questions Would you like to take the exam for me? and will you guarantee a pass?