Level III - Most difficult topic ?

For Level II I thought the most difficult parts were Time Series Analysis, a few Fixed Income readings, some SWAP calculations and Pension accounting (pensions weren’t really difficult, I just fell asleep every time I started studying it until last week when I forced myself to learn it).

For Level III I dont find anything really difficult after I have spent some time just flipping pages. It feels more like stuff that is quite easy to learn if you just give it some time. Am I wrong?

What is the most difficult reading for Level III?

L3 is deceptively easy. The hardest part is the testing format: AM written

Although if I had to pick one, I’d say commodities, only because I think the CFAI did a poor job explaining it. The Scheweser books did a much better job

Level 1: easy topics, easy exam

Level 2: difficult topics, difficult exam

Level 3: easy topics, fiendish exam

Commodities, I agree. The whole story with lending pencils (or something), the way it was explained… horrible!

Performance attribution, fixed and economics

…ooo lending penciles, horrible story…

Yea I also hated the lending pencil’s story. I don’t want a 10 page hypothetical pencil producing/lending/storage bullsh*t story.

Just jump into the real thing and explain it to me.

It was not explained at all by CFAI - it was taken as an excerpt from a textbook. I have the one - it is really terrible to read and get it right. There is a lot of more friendly readable books on derivatives in the market.

The most humble part of the curriculum i believe is Performance Evaluation and GIPS. We were lucky enough not to be tested widely on the topics.

^ It doesn’t matter if it was taken from a textbook, it was chosen to be a vital part of the CFAI curriculum.

GIPS was annoying, not so much difficult, but there is so much of it to learn for so little marks on the exam.