CFAI references question

I have a complicated question about references. First background:

I was a mutual fund analyst covering a sector for about 7 years. Worked in Boston. The fund I worked at is a household name that you would recognize. While in Boston, I was stricken with an illness which basically wrecked my life (basically lost 30-40% of one of my main organ’s functions and a second organ was operating at 20% function at one point). I spent years recovering where I grew up (not Boston) and working with doctors just so I could get enough strength to be able to do things like get out of a bed, and walk up a flight of stairs without collapsing.

During this recovery process I completed my CFA exams. I now need references to complete the charter process. I really do not want to get in touch with the people I used to work with as a work reference for CFAI for several reasons. One major reason is that they basically fired me because my health issues were spiralling out of control and effecting my ablity to work (and probably their premiums). It was a pretty cold hearted thing to do, I thought considering my dedication to the firm and that my life was literally at stake.

Question:

How detailed are the questions for the work experience check? Is it OK to get a guy who can’t really speak to the day to day responsibiliites I had, but knows I was a legit analyst on a mutual fund previously for 7+ years?