CFA Level 3 Preparation

Is it possible to pass the CFA level 3 exam using the CFAI curriculum only??

I passed level 1 from first attempt using Schweser alone and level 2 from first attempt using Elan Guides alone. But this time I feel like using the CFAI curriculum alone. Is that a good idea?

Thank you!

I only decided to do that because the CFAI notes look as thick as Elan guides level 2 material so it doesn’t seem that long.

I think it is possible. I used only CFAI for L1 and L2 and I inted to do the same for L3.

Start soon if you are concerned.

Im thinking about starting Dec 1st. I studied for 2 months for level 1 and 4 month for level 2 so I think 6 months for level 3 would be enough. Ill try to put in 600+ hours in a span of 6 months.

Level I - only used Schweser Notes, Schweser mocks, Schweser Secret Sauce, Schweser QBank, and a CFAI mock. Didn’t know CFAI had their own curriculum until a few days before the exam so by then it was too late to read all of that.

Level II - primarily used Schweser Notes, Schweser mocks, Schweser Secret Sauce, Schweser QBank, a bunch of CFAI mocks, and the CFAI curriculum whenever I needed to drill I’m deeper to the material that Schweser was too short on.

Level III - planning on reading all the CFAI curriculum and using Schweser Notes, Schweser mocks, Schweser QBank, and Schweser Secret Sauce as needed. I think I might get the Elan 11th Hour Guide as that seems to be helpful. Planning on cranking through the curriculum from CFAI by February/March 2015 and then focusing on CFAI mocks and revisiting any topics that I don’t remember well enough.

From postings on this forum it seems like CFAI curriculum is the best route to go as a primary study tool for the exam. I’d be interested in hearing any other thoughts as to additional materials that candidates found helpful :slight_smile:

For L2 I started in Feb sometime…will probably start in Dec for L3 as I have FRM P1 in Nov.