Work experience question: Credit analyst: Commercial banking

Please excuse me if the question is naive. Some terms in the work experience section are making me worried.

If someone has work experience as a credit analyst in a bank, would that qualify?

Somehow in most of the relevant sections in the online application of the institute, the reference are “responsibilities related to the investment decision making process” and “at least 50% time is directly involved in the investment decision making process”.

As a credit analyst, I analyzed the proposals to do lending (debt) but not sure if that’s “investment decision making”.

As per the process of the bank, the role was to reccommend the proposal to a committee for the approval, and no individual employee had the authority to independently make approval for lending.

Anyone with similar experience (and had the experience approved), do let me know. Tried calling CFA Institute, but received the official response that after submitting they would evaluate it.

Also, if persons providing the reference send the filled form scanned to cmservices@cfainstitute.org, would that be fine?

Yes it does count. I know many that received the charter based on their credit analyst experience. CFA experiences aren’t that narrowly defined. Credit analyst conducts rigorous financial analysis and makes recommendation on whether the bank should provide a loan or not.

I am also in thesame boat. I was beginning to doubt if it counts since my approva is still under ‘work experience review’

How liong did you apply, mine is stil under reciew as well , from a pension and investment consuklting background. It seems quite long given others have gotten through in 2 days and stuff.

I applied since Aug 15

credit analyst as in bond analyst- qualifies

credit analyst as in retail banking loans- does not qualify