CFA Success story

Hey guys- Been looking through these forums a bunch as I prepared for Level II this past June but don’t really post. Felt it would be motivational to post how the CFA has helped me land the job I’ve been tring to attain. I graduated college back in 2013 and landed a job at a hedge fund working in operations. I knew operations wasn’t the career choice for me but figured it would help me get my foot in the door. I realized it was difficult to make a move out of operations so I decided to go take the CFA in December to try to give me a leg up. All the while I was talking with different traders every day and trying to build my network.

I went on to pass level 1 in December and then did the quick turn around and passed level 2 this past June. I am currently signed up for level 3 and will probably start studying in January.

However, after I passed level 2 I decided I would try to look for a new job if my current firm couldn’t help me. I chated with one of the partners here to discuss my future. He told me a trading desk had seen that I had passed level 2 not to long ago and had recently asked about me. The timing couldn’t have been better in this regard. Turned out the MBS trading desk here was looking to add another member and I sat down with a few of them on a couple of different occasions. I ended up landing the job and will be starting as a trading assisant in a couple of weeks. The CFA truely was the reason I was given a thought. Luck and networking played a large role as well. Figured this may help motivate some people to grind through these rigurous exams. Good luck to all!

Congrats on the new job. Seize that opportunity to learn and get some experience.

Does your nickname refer to that guy:

???

Congrats man