For People Who Failed

How many hours did you study? I studied 650 hours and still wasn’t completely confident that I passed (which I did). I think aiming for 300 or 350 isn’t enough for some people. I would recommend 600+ hours with actual CFA material.

600 is way too much. If it takes you that long, you’re not studying efficiently.

I studied for about 430 hours last year and failed in 2016, Band 8. For 2017, I put in over 475 hours and passed. For first timers, I strongly suggest aiming for 500+ hours. Biggest change I made this year was that I finished my first read through (Schweser Notes) and began revision even earlier, by Mid March. Started Mocks by beginning of April and hammered CFAI online topic tests (many 2 or 3 times each) and did every CFAI curriculum EOC. Schweser Q Bank and practice tests alone is not enough IMO.

I did every past exam back to 2010, did all 6 full Schweser practice exams, did the Boston CFA Society Exam (sucked), and did the official mock.

In level 3 you are studying for 2 different tests, treat it that was and prepare / practice for both.

I don’t think that’s necessarily true. Some, myself included, would prefer to overstudy than face the prospect of cutting it too close and potentially having to go through it again the following year. Did I need a second pass through the Topic Tests or EOC practice, or third review of the 2016 AM paper? No, probably not, but I did, and those additional hours may have made sure I had plenty of breathing room above the MPS. If not, the extra work certainly didn’t hurt my chances.

In my opinion, candidates should put in as many hours as they’re able within the confines of their life/work/family balance that allows for as much mastery of the material as possible.

I studied probably ~350 hrs and was pretty confident (definitely not 100%, but honestly who is?) based on my conservative, self-grading of AMs (did 4 CFAI x2 (2012, 2014-2016) and 3 KS AM’s and PM Mocks (70+ both in CFAI exams).