Advice needed from charterholders for career

Dear AFers,

I needed some career advice and hence thought of getting some direction from some of our experienced fellow CFAs.

I have cleared CFA all levels after starting in 2015. I am a chartered accountant with some years’ experience in audit with EY. I left EY to work for an investment firm but my duties are predominantly back office and compliance related. After joining the investment firm, I felt I could do well in the investment field and stated my CFA in 2015.

Now, having passed all three levels, I stand at a cross road - I am not sure if my current employer would absorb me in their investment team despite having cleared CFA (budgets and hiring constraints). Now I am not sure, which of the following routes should I take from a long term career perspective:

1- Continue in my current firm, wait for them to allocate me to their direct investments team (if at all)

2- Quit and look for a basic/entry level job in another investment firm - which would mean a decrease in pay and starting over again

3- Quit and look for a job that is predominantly accounting related with CFA to only complement (seems a bit odd as I have given a lot of effort to get my CFA exams cleared). Although I am not sure what such a job could be?

Please share from your experience which of the above (or anything else) could make sense in the long run. Really look forward to your advice. Thanks.

Hi Guys - noticed that I had not received any response yet. Just wanted to follow up and would highly appreciate your advice. Thanks.

Do what you find the best for you.

A lot depends on the career stage and dependents that you support. It seems clear that passing CFA wont get you much further in current setup. Consider taking up 1Yr exec/2 yr MBA in a good institute and that should give you a break into Investment Banking.