Easy way to remember Derivatives

Hi everyone,

I have found very good advice on this forum on how to remember the payoff graphs of derivatives like Bull Call, Bear Put etc.

But is there an easy way to remember whether the instruments used to make up these instruments should be In the Money, Out of the Money or At the Money?

For example, a Bull Call is supposed to be made up of a ITM Long Call and a OTM Short Call. I can’t figure out why this is so.

Thank you!

HI there. I’m not an expert on the topic but I’ll add my input. There’s no requirement for the long call to be ITM and the short call to be OTM. The requirement is that the long call needs to be closer to being ITM than the short put such that the premium earned on the short put is less than the premium paid on the long call so that the transaction results in a net debit position.

I usually start with identifying if the position is a net credit or debit then I can determine the strike prices for the long and short legs of the spread.

Bull put = net credit

Bull call = net debit

Bear put = net debit

Bear call = net credit

Thanks for the reply, can you please explain

1. how did you know about the requirement?

2. how did the short put come into play? The Bull Call was referring to long call and short call.

Thanks

Try with that way:

Bull Call or Put = Buy Low sell High (strike option)

Bear Call or Put = Buy High Sell Low

Box = Bull + Bear, earn an arbitrage profit if exists

Straddle = Buy ATM Put + ATM Call on same X, bet on volatility

Strangle = Same as Straddle but cheaper version ‘cause you are playin’ with OTM Put and Call

Reverse (short) strangle (straddle) = You are betting against volatility

Butterfly = Buy Low, Buy High, short two Mid strike options,almost totally hedged position

Collar = protective put and sell call to pay for put, if you offset cost of put in total, you got 0 - price collar

Thanks for the reply. Any possibility of dumbing this down further?