Failed

Hey Guys,

Results did not come out well and to be honest I expected this. Feels bad though as I have not failed or done poorly in a very very long time.

My question is should I write next year or take a break? Some change in circumstances:

1. Got married this year (after CFA exam) so want to spend time with wife next year once she comes here through spousal sponsorship.

2. Job is a bit stressful compared to when I wrote levels 1 and 2 so weekday evenings are very tough to study. Ties in with point 1 when wife comes (can I manage both things…)

3. I am a CPA, so CFA is an add-on, but not required at my current job (FP&A)

Just wanted to get some advice from you all and what you would do if you were in my position?

Thanks!

I really suggest giving it a try again next year. I’m sure you spent money and time on this test and it is the best to prepare for it while you still have some knowledge in the memory. Life may be stressful next year, but who knows if it is going to be even more stressful after the break. However, it is you who really need to make up your mind. Good luck with everything.

Yeah do not let it slip. I dis the same thing at level 2 and only came back to it after 10 years. Push for the final mile, esp. if you are a narrow fail.

Trust me when I say, get it done before you start having kids (if that’s something you’re planning). If you can’t study during the week because of your job, if you have kids there’s no way you’ll want to miss time with them on weekends to spend all your time at a library.

Give it another try. I failed last year after clearing Levels I and II in Dec and June. I was so angry, depressed, and devastated that I didn’t not want to try again - but I did, and I passed. I’d really recommend doing it the sooner the better, as curriculum changes are not material and you still have a basis to build upon. Good luck!!!