Advice to the next generation of L3

Congrats to everyone who passed L2 and is looking to pass L3 next June. Just wanted to pass along some of my knowledge on passing the exam.

First of all, I heard a lot about L2 being much harder than L3 before I started studying L3. I have to admit that early on, readings like behavioral finance and PWM started looking really straightforward. I wasn’t faced with any hard valuations of securities like swaps in L2 or anything like that, so initially, I agreed. What you won’t realize is how much you need to know about every topic now. The AM section doesn’t leave you much room for error, and instead of being prepared to select the answer that you identify as matching something, you’re going to have to deeply understand all topics and be capable of regurgitating them very quickly. So lesson #1 here is to be cognizant of the material and don’t let it lull you to sleep. With two months left for the exam, I decided the L3 was going to be the most challenging for me to pass. Some agree, some don’t, but believe me when I say that you need to have an understanding of paragraphs of information and not just definitions. There will be very limited opportunities to “guess on the answer that looked right”.