The Fear

Less than a week to go and the fear is setting in. All I can think about are the things I’m not sure on…yet if I read up on them nothing goes in. I’ve had the same thing for the past two exams and finished above 90th percentile on each so I’m trying to maintain some perspective this time.

Nevertheless my question is…have any of you ever actually felt confident about one of these tests? I started studying in October and have done 400/500 hours I think. Yet I feel like I have no chance.

Thats what CFA does to you, right?

Mate, today I woke up bright and early and proceeded to take my sweet time doing things until I finally got around to studying 5 hours later. The panic and anxiety I felt today is unprecedented so far! This mug describes the CFA Program perfectly to me now. https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/599241218/chartered-financial-analyst-exam-mug-cfa

In fact, the first attempt at LII I put in over 300 hours and failed… that came as a shock. The second attempt I put in just 150 hours and passed, but when I left that particular exam I felt content (not confident), knowing that I had done my very best and could be satisfied whatever the outcome. I don’t think I’m there yet with LIII, haha.

my fear is that I’m focusing on the wrong type of content and going to deep in the woods.

I feel confident but I can also feel fear and anxiety. Edingburgfirsttimer, I think you will do really well based on your prior results. It means you are detail-oriented and hardworking. But it also means that you are a perfectionist and such a trait does not go well, at least from emotional perspective, against such a big exam as CFA.

I don’t know what it is about LVL3 but I’m way more nervous than before LVL1 and LVL2. I have studied way more for LVL3 than for the two previous exams but it doesn’t seem to help with the stress.

I’ve followed Meldrum’s advice since L1 and it’s served me well - he recommends splitting the readings into 3 groups to see what to focus on: