Any public accountant passed CFA level III?

I know this question sounds crazy in the CFA forum. But I am an accountant in public accounting firm. I am studying for my CPA and CFA at the same time. Right now I have passed level III, and I figured my audit experience may not count as ‘relevant work experience’, I am thinking about making career change.

Wondering does anyone know what kind of career/position that needs both CFA and CPA? I am looking for a career that can integrate the two designations. Also, do you know if public accounting experience count as ‘relevant job experience’ required for CFA?

Many thanks!

Tamiesurok

Did you do any research?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chartered_Financial_Analyst

Actuary here. Do you work with financial statements? Do you make recommendations of investments/credit/risk actions? Does your work contribute to investment decisions?

I was in the same boat. I have my CPA and just cleared my L3 exam. I worked in accounting and audit for asset management (if you work in a firm you can choose to pick your industry) and was able to use my hours for both my CPA and CFA.

Hope that helps

I haven’t passed L3 yet, but since I am attempting it next year and planning to give it my big shot, I am starting to think about the experience requirement too! I am a Chartered Accountant (the British equivalence to a CPA), currently working in compliance in an investment fund and previously worked in external audit (audit of financial statements) of financial services clients in the Big4. After doing some research, I believe that such experience could be relevant but it all boils down to how you present your experience and cover letter.

I’d be intereested to hear others inputs too.

Up

Hello,