How I Passed Level 3 - On my Second Try

Hi Everyone,

CFA L3 is unfortunately a bigger pain than level 2. I failed L3 once, Here is how I passed level 3:

Products I purchased: Kaplan Schweser Books & QBank Chalk & Board - Nathan Ronen’s Video Series & Writing Workshop (I am not affiliated or paid by any of these companies.)

How I studied: In October, get the CFA Institute books and start reading the sections you hate. Don’t kill yourself, just familiarize. First read is just skimming through the pages to see what the chapter covers. Second read is to point out the major areas that link to the LOS. Plan on reviewing all the books between October and January 15th. Save ethics and GIPS for the last month. It is more important than ever to mainly focus on the CFA curriculum and not rely on third party curriculum books. I primarily used the CFA provided books. I found it very necessary at level 3.

In mid-January start watching Nathan’s videos (or another video series if you prefer) to help hone down the lessons. I benefit a lot from someone explaining the sections and issues to me. Nathan, in my opinion, does the best job explaining how to solve the problem and what to watch out for that will trip you up. Plus he is very responsive to questions you have, at no extra charge. That is invaluable. Don’t start a video until you have read the CFA chapters. And read the CFA books, and use the Kaplan Schweser to fill in areas you are struggling with and use for extra questions.