Economics RD 11

on page 252 -the top paragraph, they mention that a country’s expanding share in the global portfolio decreases the value of the currency. I am not clear here- it should increase the currency value- it should appreciate right?

There was another thread on this, but I cannot find it easily.

You need to read the third sentence carefully: “Thus, investors will have to be induced to increase their strategic allocations to assets in that country/currency.” How do you induce investors to buy assets (or currencies)? By lowering the price.

If the allocation in the global portfolio increases of a particular currency, won’t its demand rise also? If demand increases of that currency, it will appreciate right?

Cart: meet horse.

disclaimer: i dont have the 2020 books and i am no expert on the topic but from my personal pov, id say that an economy’s strong streak should strengthen its currency and economy as a whole

expanding share in global economy should lead to a strengthening currency. Not sure though.

I agree with y’all.

The point in this section is that, to get the ball rolling, as it were, the currency will likely have to weaken initially.

does not make sense to me- why weaken?

If you want people to buy, say, left-handed teacups, lower the price on left-handed teacups.

If you want people to buy, say, see-through window shades, lower the price on see-through window shades.

If you want people to buy, say, Thai bhat, lower the price on Thai bhat.

1 Like

Looks like a bad written paragraphs. The book clearly guides us how good economies tend to get bigger share of the world portfolio because of better expected future performance, so global investors will tend to buy the currency associated to those assets and, therefore, see that currency strengthen in value. However, the book states otherwise.