Level III without job experience

Hi, I am taking Level 2 this June. I am not working at the moment because I have a small child. I was wondering if it was possible to take Level 3 as well without relevant job experience. Is it possible to understand the material without having practical experience? Would appreciate your thoughts. Many thanks

Same here. I am taking Level III, this June. I have no relevant work experience. First two levels were my first encounter with finance. Managed to pass at first try (though with considerable effort and time). In the light of the cirriculum alone (exam is another story), LIII seems more challenging for me. Practioners might have an advantage. Still, I am hopeful. Afterall, I have more time to prepare then I had for LI and LII.

just bite the bullet and take level 3!

This posting comes around regularly. Many people without experience have conquered the CFA exams, including myself. I have an interview tomorrow, I’m keeping my fingers crossed. The local CFA chapter allowed me to become an affiliate member without experience even though their website says I need a years experience.

JonnyDee: I am also in the same boat having passed all the three levels. What kind of job are you interviewing for? And does it help to join local CFA society as an affiliate member (in the form of getting job leads)?

The interview was for an analyst position. As a candidate I had been getting emails from the local society telling me about their monthly luncheon. In November the CFAI sent the local chapter an updated list and because I wasn’t a candidate or an affiliate member I wasn’t included on the list. As an affiliate member I get the member discount to the luncheons at the expense of paying the CFAI membership dues. Fair trade off, probably not. I’ve found the CFA society luncheons to be a great place to network. I’ve made several contacts through them.