Congratulations LIII passers! Anyone here with no relevant experience?

Firstly congratulations to all who have passed LIII! I am 28 yrs old, have an engineering background and just starting work in the strategy and ops division of a Canadian MC firm as a senior consultant. I have recently passed LII and have no relevant finance experience. I was wondering if it makes sense to write LIII without making a switch to finance. Will I have to take a major wage cut if i try to transition into finance at this point? Will LIII make more sense if I work in the industry? I am looking for some constructive feedback. Thanks and congratulations again.

I was in your shoes couple of years ago. Passed L2 in 2005 but no relevant experience at that point. I had a hard time breaking into the industry even with passing L2 so I thought, no more cfa exams unless I get a job. After much effort, got a ER job at boutique firm through networking at local cfa society (passing L2 sure helped in getting this job). Took a year or two off before taking L3 (passed L3 this year). I found that working in the industry makes u understand and appreciate the curriculum much better. I actually enjoyed studying for L3 because I could relate a lot of the subject matter to my daily job duties. I guess there’s no black and white answer to your question, but in my case it worked out well to wait for L3.

If you’re changing careers, it’s too hard to predict when you are going to get your break, and it doesn’t make sense to put off doing more CFA work just because you don’t have the job yet. Also, you learn more, which makes you come across smarter and more confident when you do get interviews. But it’s also important not to take the attitude that you are going to wait to finish the CFA curriculum before looking for a job. Do both. Of course, in late April and may, you may just have to crank on CFA only, but other than cram time, you should be pursuing both simultaneously.