Information Hemmorage

Anyone else alarmed at how quickly they have forgotten EVERYTHING from LII?

I was pretty shocked although I am not sure why. Everytime I finish a test like that I think it will stick, but it never does. It is kind of sad. Just like exercising, you work you butt off for a half a year to get in shape and then if you sit down on the couch for a couple of weeks it is all gone…asymmetric.

It’s better that you do. How else are you gonna get stuff like the two-bond MBS hedge and contingent immunization calculations in your head.

When I finished my engineering degree I spent a few months volunteering as a teaching assistant for senior high school math and physics. I found the material unbelievably easy compared to how I remembered it being as a student. When I was a student, I always thought nothing was really being retained, but each time you push yourself to a higher level in studying, your “base” knowledge moves forward. I think we all get ourselves into a state of hyper-retention for exam day, and then “forget” the most bleeding-edge stuff, but still retain quite a bit (more than we think… I “think”). All the same, it still seems like a mountain to climb when studying begins.

I can still remember a bunch of formulas and stuff that I drilled quite a bit. But if I had to sit for L2 today, I gurantee you no higher than a failure band 5.

I bet I’d pass the exam if I wrote it again… Confidence is 1% of the battle right?

I feel like I don’t remember much to the degree necessary to pass L2, but I’ll bet with very little time it would all come right back. I still know concepts, it’s the details that are starting to get fuzzy. I haven’t looked at the topics for L3, but I hope some are building on L2 concepts and are not totally new

MattLikesAnalysis Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I bet I’d pass the exam if I wrote it again… > > Confidence is 1% of the battle right? I would agree with Matt 100%