Which one I shall go for CFA or FRM???

Hi All,

I hope you can provide me some guidance about which one is more appropriate to go for CFA or FRM.

About me… I am a research analyst and my interest lies in field of equity research and financial engineering……. I feel CFA is a good option for sure but my dilema is will CFA cover enough of risk management?? As in today’s time risk management is gaining importance but is it so important that one need to have a certification only for risk management provided that person has cleared all levels of CFA… as I saw people who have cleared both CFA and FRM. And if your answer is that both are valuable which one I shall target first???

Also please tell me how much of time or number of attempts on an average a person takes to complete CFA and FRM?? (Offcourse in ideal conditions CFA can be completed in 1.5 years and FRM in a single day but I am speaking about an average person with job.)

Thanks in advance!!!

Go for CFA, it is more broad and a nice knowledge base for any job within the finance industry. With a CFA, FRM will be fairly easy but FRM is more technical and great if you work in a risk department,. Hope this helps.

firsty CFA doesn’t take 1.5 year. Level 1 only in June and December and Both level 2 and 3 are sat once a year in June so your looking at a minimum or 2.5 years.

Secondly have you actualy spend sometime researching on both the CFA and FRM. Go and skip through the books and look at the syallabus and it will give you a good idea about what interests you. and if your a research analyst then CFA is ideal. As a research analyst your job is to find the best value company. and that’s what CFA is all about. Your looking for the intrinsic value. Do the CFA and good luck.

I did the CFA in 1.5 years, it’s definitely possible: L1 (December) --> L2 (June) --> L3 (June).