GARP or Schweser for FRM Level 2 - November 2015

Hi,

I am in a dillema over which curriculum to follow for FRM level 2 (November 2015) exam?

I studied for FRM level 1 (May 2015) from Schweser only but felt many times that Schweser is not adequate. This feeling got stronger when I attempted the GARP practice exams and was quite worried. Luckily I managed to appear in the 1st quartile.

I now have to decide which curriculum to choose for FRM level 2. The thing is that page count for GARP curriculum is 303 pages more than Schweser notes (1414 vs. 1111). This makes me wonder whether GARP curriculum would be manageable within the time left.

Regards

Kamran

i am in the same confusion, but i think i would refer to garp books for studying and both for practice questions…

btw, do garp books have a lot of practice questions?

Guys, my 2 cents:

1. It is not the pg no.s that matter, it is the contents. GARP as like CFAI books are supposedly better than any other prep provider. But that’s that.

2. Do not and I repeat do not TOUCH the GARP books , if you have a full time job and passing the exam is the only goal. GARP books are not only mathematically abstract and heavy but are devoid of any question… not even example. I believe it would be some years before GARP would finally organise its curriculum and books would be far more standardised. That said, if you also hanker after knowledge part then do refer GARP books, only those concepts that are unresolvebale by Schwesers should be referred.

If FRM-I was a distant reality than the prep provider stuff, you have a lot of surprise for Part II then.

Fortunately, GARP has a lower MPS( or so I believe), so practicisng a lot will sail you through.

But even practise materials are rare commodity and most certainly the Schwesers mocks do not convey 25% of the actual exam.

I never used BT but I referred their videos for my concept clearing. They are WORLD CLASS and I have much respect for the guy, David Harper.