Should I prepare for an FRM?

I am studying for CFA level 2 right now. I plan on giving the exam next year(2017).

I have already finished going through some of the topics. Not mastered them though.

I was wondering if i should attempt to do an FRM since i have ample time. Also i am not working currently. So i am just at home for now.

I did look at what an FRM has to offer and what direction it takes. I have seen that it doesnt have too much in common with CFA.

The reason I want to do it is to maybe add some more academic value on my Resume. I do not have any experience in finance yet. I plan on working after i finish level 2 CFA.

I want to know how much time it would take to prepare. And how much more intense it is compared to CFA level2.

Can someone comment on this? Or maybe share some kind of experience if they have had any similar kinds of experiences?

Any criticism is welcome.

You don’t plan to work until the second half of 2017? That gap in your resume will be difficult to overcome IMO…

May I ask why you are taking a year off???

Time off to study for FRM or CFA exams is not recommended. The FRM and CFA exams do not compensate for time off from work, unless you’re pursuing a graduate degree during that year off from work. All else equal, guy/gal with 1.5 years of experience vs guy/gal with CFA level 2 passed or FRM exams passed, hire the 1.5 years of experience.

Also you’re in the Netherlands? This is quite possibly one of the worst times to take time off given all the bank layoffs. Getting a job in Europe at a financial intermediary or asset manager is gonna be really tough if you have no edge.