How many hrs?

How many hours are people putting in for the FRM? Thought about doing it to keep busy. but after finishing off the CFA… not sure. It’s $$$ plus Keyword “FRM” in Monster doesn’t yield much.

I’d like to target around 200 hours total, but I’ve put in just a few so far. I’m hoping that’ll be enough - I’ve studied many of the topics before through actuarial exams, and I’m hoping I haven’t forgotten it all.

60-80 hrs, and who cares if you are a FRM or not… ppl will just go “Wat da fuk is FRM?” its not like CFA most ppl know what it is…

Actually no average person knows what either of them are. In fact both the CEO and CFO both looked at me confused when I told them I was studying. This scenario has happened to me about 100 times for both the CFA and the FRM: "Hey Lance do you want to [Drink / Hang out / Go to a movie / insert anything awesome] “Can’t I’m studying for the [CFA / FRM]” "Oh what’s that, the 1.) Certified financial associate? 2.) Financial Rain Man? 3.) Certified financial accountant? 4.) Real Estate? 5.) Accounting? 6.) Is that like series 7? no, no, no, no, no, and no One time my boss said: “CFA, that’s like the FRM right?”. Classic.

Funny, I was interviewing at a financial restructuring shop the other day and the MD asked what I was doing in my spare time and when I told him Im studying for the FRM, he looked at the SVP and said…he is going to be a Football Roster Manager and I cracked laughing…everyone had a good laugh after a long interview…was a light moment.

If people don’t know what the FRM… does it discourage you guys from paying the $$$ or doing it?