Relative value + pair trades

Hey all, I’m trying to learn more about relative value trading, specifically long/short pairs trading. Let’s take for example a company such as Coach (ticker: COH).

Obviously no company is a perfect match, but if your view was to long Coach (or whatever else you wanted to pick), what would you choose as a short and why?

I’m not an expert in Coach, but the name just came to mind as I was thinking about a belt I own that is made by Coach. To me, assuming that I thought Coach was going to have a great couple quarters and I also wanted to short something else, some risks I might be concerned about would include the cost of leather, fashion risk, and price point. So, maybe I choose to short a higher-end luxury brand such as Tiffany (TIF), or something that I didn’t expect to perform as well from a fashion standpoint such as Michael Kors (KORS), or even something in a different part of the value chain but generally sells higher ticket items that I don’t think will sell as well in a continued challenging economy, such as Saks (SKS).

However, no other company is exactly like Coach, and I don’t have much insight into which would make the best pair. Can anyone here please opine? I’d value any ideas, or recommended reading material for pairs trading. Thank you.

Also, can any investment professionals here please comment on the effectiveness of pairing a short ETF versus short equity as a means of hedging sector noise? I’m thinking that perhaps for a mid-cap company in some arbitrary sector that doesn’t have meaningful publicly-traded competitors, perhaps you’re better off shorting an ETF than to try to find some other publicly traded company in a different part of the value chain (e.g. an input manufacturer), because at least you can then hedge out the sector noise and still get beta and company-level idiosyncratic exposure.