I want to start trading...

All this stuff im studying is good and all…Now I want to start trading a little bit, maybe freelance and research some companies but i dont know how to start. I want to do Value Investing but i dont know where to begin, where to start looking. I know that once i begin I will be able to keep the ball rolling. Any help or ideas?

Trading or investing? Two totally different things lol

Investing

Investing typically involves substantially longer holding periods than trading, if you feel the need to “do something”, then trading may be more appealing than investing.

If you want to practice, I’d open up an account at Interactive Brokers, build an asset allocation with ETFs, and rebalance monthly, just to get started. Then you might carve out 10% to do some stock picking using what you know and get a feel. Or run a paper portfolio, which is not quite the same as a real one because you don’t have to manage your emotional reactions. Also, others don’t always respect the results of paper portfolios, because it’s always possible to run 20 of them and then brag about whichever one happend to do well: when it’s real money, it’s hard to play that game.

but paper portfolios can be good for your own use: figuring out if you gravitate to one investment style or another more.

When I’m low on ideas I use Yahoo’s stock screener to play around. Run a few screens using some value metrics and see if anything pops up that piques your interest.

trading vs investing is like having sex and making love…sometimes you confuse the two…

I disagree with everything said. Study security analysis for 2 years. Build some experience running a paper portfolio as if your own money was in it. When you feel you’ve achieved a decent level of insight…then and only then use real money. Then again, it depends on how good you want to be.

Paper portfolios are lame. You don’t need to go balls to the wall, but you should have some skin in the game.